RESOLUTION BY THE FACULTY SENATE OF DELTA STATE UNIVERSITY OF CLEVELAND, MISSISSIPPI CALLING FOR

A change to current senior grade practice and graduation procedures so that graduating seniors may take final examinations at the regularly scheduled exam periods with all other students.

WHEREAS, current practice requires that grades for graduating seniors be submitted before regularly scheduled final examinations are completed and

WHEREAS, current practice can compromise the academic integrity of a course by allowing graduating students to be administered a final examination that covers less material than the exam taken by the rest of the class and

WHEREAS, current policy can present a hardship on graduating seniors and faculty for the following reasons:

- 1. Graduating seniors may have to take all of their final examinations in a two to three day period when papers and projects are also due
- 2. Graduating seniors do not have the advantage of the extended preparation time that their nongraduating classmates may benefit from
- 3. Graduating seniors may be tested on material not covered prior to the deadline.
- 4. Faculty often must write and administer multiple final exams while classes are still in session.
- 5. Faculty may feel pressured to negotiate length, breadth and quality of final exams written for graduating seniors.

WHEREAS, current senior grade practice denies graduating seniors the 2,250 minutes of class time as required by IHL.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE FACULTY SENATE OF DELTA STATE UNIVERSITY OF CLEVELAND, MISSISSIPPI

That:

SECTION 1. all graduating seniors be required to take their final examinations during the regularly scheduled final examination week with all other students.

SECTION 2. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Registrar's office modify the graduation process as needed to accommodate the change in the timeline for reporting senior grades.

SECTION 3. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution shall be presented to Academic Council immediately,

SPONSORS: Faculty Senate Executive Committee (Senators Green, Oleis, Mitchell, Hartley, Swanson, Allen, Brown, Shuttlesworth, Hebert, Karahan)

ADOPTED:_____

President, Faculty Senate